Navjot Sidhu resigns as Punjab Congress president after drubbing in election

Punjab Congress party Committee President Navjot Singh Sidhu has resigned from his post and his resignation came soon after Congress interim president Sonia Gandhi sought resignations of the chiefs of the state Congress Committees in all recent poll-bound states where the party suffered massive losses.

On Tuesday, Sonia Gandhi sought resignations of the five PCC chiefs of Uttarakhand, Uttar Pradesh, Goa, Punjab, and Manipur. Her decision came after a meeting of the CWC (Congress Working Committee) in New Delhi. The meeting was conducted to discuss the performance of the party in the assembly polls.

The CWC had authorized Sonia Gandhi to make comprehensive changes in the party structure at both the state level and national level.

The other PCC presidents are Ajay Kumar Lallu from Uttar Pradesh, Girish Chodankar from Goa, Nameirakpam Loken Singh from Manipur, Ganesh Godiyal from Uttarakhand. Among them, Chodankar, Godiyal, and Lallu had resigned from their posts taking moral responsibility for the defeats in their respective states, even before Sonia’s move.

The Rise and Fall of Sidhu

Navjot Singh Sidhu was appointed the Punjab Pradesh Congress Committee president in July 2021. However, soon after his appointment, the cricketer-turned-politician got into a bitter tussle with the then Chief Minister Captain Amarinder Singh.

Sidhu then locked horns with Charanjit Singh Channi, Captain Amarinder Singh’s successor and party’s chief ministerial face in Punjab. It seems like, as a result of this infighting, Congress was reduced to 18 seats in the Punjab assembly elections.

Navjot Singh Sidhu, who contested from Amritsar East seat lost to AAP’s (Aam Aadmi Party) debutant candidate Jeevan Jyot Kaur.