BJP, Congress win 3 Rajya Sabha seats each in Karnataka, Rajasthan

The Congress won three Rajya Sabha seats and the BJP one in Rajasthan and the situation was reversed in Karnataka with the BJP winning three seats and Congress one.

Congress party candidates Mukul Wasnik, Randeep Surjewala, and Pramod Tiwari were elected to the Rajya Sabha.

In Karnataka, the ruling BJP party has won all three Rajya Sabha seats it had contested in, out of the four seats from the state. The Congress party managed to win only one out of the two seats to which it had fielded its candidates. The JD (S) which had fielded one candidate, failed to win due to a lack of enough votes.

Union Finance Minister Nirmala Sitharaman, ongoing MLC Lehar Singh Siroya, actor-politician Jaggesh from BJP, and former Union Minister Jairam Ramesh of Congress were declared elected.

But counting was held up in Maharashtra after the opposition BJP party alleged three MLAs of the ruling MVA (Maha Vikas Aghadi) – cabinet ministers Yashomati Thakur (Congress), Jitendra Awhad (NCP), besides Shiv Sena legislator Suhas Kande – violated the voting model code.

The counting has been put on hold in Haryana for similar reasons.

BJP nominee Kishan Lal Panwar and Independent candidate Kartikeya Sharma shot off a missive to the EC, alleging Congress party MLAs BB Batra and Kiran Choudhary showed their ballot papers to unauthorized persons after marking them and that episodes were captured in cameras.