Punjab Elections 2022: BJP to contest 65 seats, Captain’s party 37

Punjab Elections 2022: On 24th January, the BJP (Bharatiya Janata Party) announced the finalization of its seats-sharing pack for Punjab polls with allies Shiromani Akali Dal (Sanyukt) and former CM Amarinder Singh’s PLC (Punjab Lok Congress).

According to the agreement, the BJP will field its candidates in 65 out of 117 seats, whereas, the Captain’s party will contest 37 constituencies. The remaining 15 assembly seats have been allotted to SAD (Sanyukt).

The BJP was in power in Punjab state between 2007 and 2017 in alliance with the Badal family-led Shiromani Akali Dal (SAD). But it lost its traditional ally in September 2020 following the passage of the central farm reform laws. These laws were taken back in November last year following a year-long farmers’ protest.

Amarinder Singh led the Congress to a three-fourth majority victory in the 2017 assembly elections. He stepped down as the Chief Minister on 18th September due to a bitter intraparty feud.

The 79-year-old Singh resigned from the Congress in November and formed his own party, the PLC.

Captain Amarinder Singh and BJP decided to join hands for the upcoming assembly elections and made a formal announcement following the repeal of farm reform laws.

Punjab elections will be held for 117 seats in a single phase on 14th February. The state witnesses a four-cornered contest, among the ruling Congress party, the BJP-PLC-SAD (Sanyukt) coalition, Aam Aadmi Party (AAP), and SAD &BSP alliance.