Pushkar Dhami To Be Uttarakhand Chief Minister Again

Pushkar Singh Dhami has been given a second term as the Chief Minister of Uttarakhand state, the BJP (Bharatiya Janata Party) announced after the legislature party meeting. Mr. Dhami lost his own seat, Khatima, but this decision is seen as recognition for his spearheaded campaign that led the party to a record straight term in the state.

The announcement was made after the legislature party meeting in Dehradun, where the party’s central observers for the Uttarakhand, Union Minister Rajnatha Singh, and senior leader Meenakshi Lekhi were present.

Apart from Dhami, three other leaders are also in the fray, they are former Chief Minister Trivendra Singh Rawat, Union Minister Ramesh Pokhriyal Nishank, and senior leader Satpal Maharaj.

Mr. Pushkar Dhami was made the CM of Uttarakhand in July last year after his predecessors Trivendra Singh Rawat and Tirath Singh Rawat came under a lot of criticism regarding their leadership.

It is believed that the BJP party opted for Dhami to counter the Congress and its former CM Harish Rawaotin Kumaon and in this region, Dhami was elected two times as MLA.