Manipur Assembly Election: 38 Seats In Fray For First Phase Of Polling Today

Manipur Assembly Election: The first phase of polling for the Manipur Assembly election will be held on 28th February. In the first phase of the two-phase election, 38 assembly constituencies of Manipur will witness the polls.

In the 38 assembly seats, 29 are in valley districts of Bishnupur, Imphal East & West, and nine seats spread across Kangpokpi, Churchandpur, and Pherzawl.

In the first phase, a total of 173 candidates are in the fray, of which 15 are women candidates. Among the main candidates are the chief minister and BJP candidate from Heingang N Biren Singh, his cabinet colleague Thongam Biswajit Singh, deputy CM and NPP candidate Yumnam Joykumar, speaker Y Khemchand Singh, and Manipur Congress president N Lokesh Singh

Major Issues For Manipur Voters

Development and Welfare of youth and women top the wishlist of the voters in Moirang, who feel that the constituency has fallen behind despite having excellent tourism potential and rich cultural heritage.

Moirang constituency will witness a three-cornered fight between the National People’s Party, Congress, and Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP).

Meanwhile, in the Olympic medalist Mirabai Chanu’s village, drinking water supply, and poor road conditions are key issues. The village, which is about 25 km from Imphal comes under the Lamlai Assembly constituency where five candidates from BJP, Congress, JD (U), Republican Party of India (Athawale), and an Independent are in the fray on 28th February.