BJP appoints Amit Shah, Rajnath Singh as observers for government formation in UP, Uttarakhand

On Monday, the BJP (Bharatiya Janata Party) appointed its top leaders, including Union ministers Amit Shah and Rajnath Singh, as central observers for government formation in the four states where it returned to power.

In the latest assembly elections, the BJP won Uttar Pradesh, Uttarakhand, Goa, and Manipur and AAP won Punjab.

The BJP parliamentary board appointed Amit Shah and the party vice president Raghubar Das as the central observer and co-observer of Uttar Pradesh respectively.

Rajnath Singh along with co-observer Union Minister Meenakshi Lekhi has been assigned to oversee the selection of the leader of the party in Uttarakhand.

Union ministers Nirmala Sitharaman and Narendra Singh Tomar have been appointed as observers for the selection of the party leader in Manipur and Goa respectively.

Union Minister Kiren Rijiju and his cabinet colleague L Murugan are the co-observers for the Manipur and Goa respectively.

While it is all set that Yogi Adityanath will again be elected as the legislative leader in Uttar Pradesh, the party has to decide deputy chief minister in the state. In Uttarakhand, it is not clear who will lead the state government as chief minister Pushkar Dhami lost the elections.

The BJP party has appointed its heavyweights, former party presidents Shah and Rajnath, for ensuring the smooth formation of the government in both Uttar Pradesh and Uttarakhand.