Elections to 57 Rajya Sabha Seats From 15 States on June 10

The Election Commission (EC) on Thursday announced June 10 as the election date for 57 Rajya Sabha seats in 15 seats namely Telangana, Andhra Pradesh, Tamil Nadu, Karnataka, Odisha, Chhattisgarh, Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan, Uttar Pradesh, Uttarakhand, Maharashtra, Punjab, Jharkhand, Bihar, and Haryana.

On Thursday, the Election Commission said, elections will be held to fill 57 Rajya Sabha seats from 15 states falling vacant due to the retirement of members on various dates between June and August months.

Prominent members among those retiring are Union minister Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi, Congress leaders Jairam Ramesh, Ambika Soni, and Kapil Sibal, and BSP’s Satish Chandra Misra. Rajya Sabha Members are retiring between 21st June and 1st August. While 11 seats are falling vacant in Uttar Pradesh, six each from Maharashtra and Tamil Nadu, five seats from Bihar, and four each from Karnataka, Andhra Pradesh, and Rajasthan.

Three members each from Odisha, and Madhya Pradesh, two each from Chhattisgarh, Jharkhand, Telangana, Punjab, and Haryana, and one from Uttarakhand state are also retiring.

The EC said the date of issue of notification for the elections will be 24th May and the last date to file nominations will be 31st May. Scrutiny of nominations will take place on 1st June and the last date of withdrawal of nominations will be 3rd June.  Polling hours on 10th June will be from 9 am – 4 pm and the counting of votes will be from 5 pm.

Most of the new members who get elected are likely to vote in the President’s election, likely in July.